top of page
Search
  • Alex Krohn

June

The summer has been plodding along. The days are generally the same as far as class goes. We continue to attend our daily classes and have our exams every two weeks approximately. We attend a lab session in the autopsy suite when our lectures for that exam's topics are over in order to look at autopsy specimens that we have been discussing. We were able to see a lot of gastrointestinal, heart, brain, and reproductive specimens with some really interesting pathology. Once in a while we attend a lab to practice cutting some specimens like we would in the gross room. The labs are helpful to see some real world things, instead of just pictures in a powerpoint. But mostly it is just a lot of studying. Even though we are only taking two classes, they really do take up a ton of time. You have to keep up every day, because once you get behind, there is just so much material given out each day, it's hard to catch back up. The hardest part is finding a balance to studying and enjoying your summer.


The Tumornators

I finally was able to work on some really interesting specimens the last time I had my gross room rotation. I first was able to do an actually freeze and make a slide out of tissue that was being used for intraoperative consultation. While the patient was in surgery, I had to make up a slide for the pathologist to look at to determine the next steps of the surgery the patient was currently undergoing. It was stressful to be working on something so important and time-sensitive like that, but I passed with flying colors, which gives me a huge confidence boost. I may actually know what I am doing! I grossed some heart valves, where one of them was very calcified. Then I got to gross a placenta case. There was nothing wrong with it that you could see with your eyes, but it was really interesting to work on a large, involved specimen like that. And it was messy, which made it all the more fun. Each rotation, I feel more comfortable with what I am doing and I am proud of my work when I leave for the day.


Cucumber Falls, Ohiopyle, Pennsylvania

With all of the studying that is to be done, I still have found someway to have some well-deserved fun this summer. One of my classmates has an apartment with a pool, so on nice days, we try to spend some of the day there. We went to Ohiopyle over July 4th weekend, which is a state park in Pennsylvania. They have waterfalls there, natural rock waterslides, and many hiking trails. We got caught in a huge rain storm while we were out hiking, but it makes for a great story now. I occasionally go to the bars downtown on the weekend, which is really nice in the summer. It seems like nobody is here and we usually have the whole place to ourselves. I also had a friend come visit me for a weekend where we went on some hikes to Raven Rock, Cooper's rock, and we even went white water rafting on the New River! It was about a two and half hour drive, but it was soo worth it! I totally recommend this to everybody that visits West Virginia. It was a life experience that I will not ever forget. My classmates and even the administrators of our program have played volleyball together twice this summer. It's really nice to get together for something not related to school. So as you can see, even though you are constantly studying in this program, you are able to make time to enjoy life as it is here in West Virginia. Make sure you take advantage of it while you can. There really is no other state like this one.



Lastly, I want to say congratulations to the incoming class of 2021. Some of you have received notification that you have been accepted. You have been accepted to a rigorous, but extremely rewarding program here at West Virginia. In six months, the sixteen of you will follow in my footsteps where you will be nervous, excited, stressed, hopeful and proud. I hope to see you next year! Make sure you celebrate this accomplishment, as you deserve it.

To those who have not been accepted, try not to be discouraged. I have talked to many people that have had to apply multiple times to try to get in. Don't give up if this is truly your dream. With hard work and determination, you can accomplish any goal you set for yourself. As cheesy as that sounds, especially coming from a stranger, it really is true.


There's only two and a half weeks left of the summer semester. Next week we have our first final exam. So it's time to buckle down and get even more serious. Next time we talk, I will be on a much needed two week vacation.


Pondering what the future holds for me

155 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page